A Challenge for this Seminarian

26Mar09

I’m reading Jonathan Edward’s Religious Affections, and I’m feeling convicted even before making it out of the first chapter.

That religion which God requires, and will accept, does not consist in weak, dull, and lifeless wishes, raising us but a little above a state of indifference. – I.II.i

If we be not in good earnest in religion, and our wills and inclinations be not strongly exercised, we are nothing. – I.II.i

He that has doctrinal knowledge and speculation only, without affection [emotion or passion], never is engaged in the business of religion. – I.II.ii

Salvation, of course, is only by faith, but saving faith does works. Even as I study tonight, I’m feeling convicted of my own lethargy and selfishness, which gets so much in the way of my loving and serving Christ and others.

It’s amazing that one can feel chained to idleness. How can such a passive thing feel like a taskmaster? Jesus did say, “Everyone who commits sin is a slave to sin” (John 8:34). I know that I have been freed from my sin by Christ (John 8:36), but I need to submit more radically to the Lord and bring all of my time-wasting inclinations in submission to him through much, much more prayer.

Would you pray for me, too? As always, if there’s some way I can pray for you, send me an email via the address to the right.

No Responses Yet to “A Challenge for this Seminarian”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

