A stunning (though elementary, really) revelation

29Oct09

Starting with the first couple of weeks in the semester, there was a guy in one of my classes that sort of annoyed me with the tone of his questions and his general attitude in class.

Two weeks ago, I gave a lesson in church on the great commandment in Matthew 22:34-40, where Jesus says that the great commandment is twofold: You must love God wholly, and you must love your neighbor as yourself.

Last weekend, as I was hanging our tent out to dry after my wife and I returned from a camping trip, the aforementioned classmate parked his car a few spaces from ours and headed into his apartment across the street. I hadn’t realized he lived there.

Immediately, two thoughts crossed my mind: First, Oh man, that guy’s my neighbor. Then, immediately, Oh man, that guy’s my neighbor.

I’ve been asking God to show me where I’m not like him, and it’s (strangely?) comforting that he is happy to oblige.

5 Responses to “A stunning (though elementary, really) revelation”

  1. Yeah… “that guy” always seems to be my “neighbor”, whether he’s physically my neighbor or not… 🙂

    Thanks for the post!

    -Alan

  2. 2 Jeremiah

    My neighbors are REALLY difficult to deal with. On one side I have the active Jehovah’s Witnesses, who tell me that my religion is silly. On the other side, I have the child-haters club, who don’t want my children or me anywhere near their property.

    I hope God gives me the ability to show them love, somehow. It’s difficult when we have a few hundred yards separating us.

  3. Adam,

    What a challenging reminder! It’s always encouraging to see a the effects of a sermon reverberate weeks after the message, and in the preachers own life! I think that shows that the sermon was from the heart,

    Andy

  4. 4 David Barbour

    You all will be happy to know that “he” moved to the house across the street from me, and brought his family with him. And I was thinking,,, if I am to love him as I love myself,,,, well then,, I might have to,,,uh,,,well I might have to do something different than what I’ve been doing,,, cause I’ve really kind of been “liking him” like I “like” others folks.

    How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear unless their Godly neighbor shows it to them through word and deed and telling them the Good News,, or something like that…


  1. 1 The Assembling of the Church | Who is my neighbor?

Leave a Reply

