My Baptism

01Nov09

A few weekends ago, I was baptized by immersion on a camping trip with my church.

You may have noticed that I’ve been publishing a subtly Christian blog. If you’re a real reader, you’ve read the “About Me” page and noticed that I’ve even been in seminary for about a year and a half now.

So why’d I wait so long to be baptized?

At 12 years old, I accepted Christ Jesus as my Savior and Lord after I’d been attending a Presbyterian church for about a year. About a year later, after finishing confirmation class, I and a few others were lined up at the front of the church and baptized by sprinkling.

Looking back to that profession of faith and the high school years that followed, I’m still not quite settled on whether my faith was authentic then. This uncertainty played into my decision to be baptized a few weekends ago, but even if this uncertainty weren’t present, I would have gone ahead with being baptized by immersion. Why? Because I’m convinced that the biblical model is to baptize professing believers by immersing them fully in water.

I won’t go into all the theological arguments here. There have been many, many pages written on the model of baptism in the New Testament. If you want a thorough treatment from a Baptist perspective, with particular attention to the Presbyterian theology surrounding baptism, see Believer’s Baptism. If you want my opinion, email or Facebook me.

I decided to be baptized a few weekends ago with three primary motivations:

  1. A desire to participate in the ordinance of baptism for the repentance of sins and in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit in the rich and highly symbolic way in which it is performed in the New Testament. We are baptized into the death of Christ (Romans 6:3). Sprinkling does not embody this reality in the same way as being “buried” under the water and raised to new life.
  2. A desire to be obedient to the Lord in this manner (Mark 16:16; Acts 2:38; 10:48).
  3. A desire to teach and practice believer’s baptism by immersion in the future, Lord willing, and the accompanying desire to have practiced what I will preach.

I love the Presbyterian church who introduced me to Jesus. I am indebted to those who discipled me there as well as those at my (Baptist) church in college who taught me by example what a mature Christian looks like.

This baptism (along with a handful of other convictions) means I am a baptist, but please don’t hear me say that baptists are the only true Christians. They’re not.

“Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind” on such matters (Rom 14:5). I’m convinced of baptistic theology, so I was baptized by immersion.

Baptism

3 Responses to “My Baptism”

  1. Fantastic Adam. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a wonderful opportunity it was to be able to share with you during that time brother!

  3. Blessings on you my brother. I especially loved this part of your testimony:

    This baptism (along with a handful of other convictions) means I am a baptist, but please don’t hear me say that baptists are the only true Christians. They’re not.


Leave a Reply

