Colossians 2:10-11

20Nov09

Here is today’s translation of Colossians.

The Greek

10 καὶ ἐστὲ ἐν αὐτῷ πεπληρωμένοι, ὅς ἐστιν ἡ κεφαλὴ πάσης ἀρχῆς καὶ ἐξουσίας. 11 ἐν ᾧ καὶ περιετμήθητε περιτομῇ ἀχειροποιήτῳ ἐν τῇ ἀπεκδύσει τοῦ σώματος τῆς σαρκός, ἐν τῇ περιτομῇ τοῦ Χριστοῦ,

The Translation

10 And you are in him, having been made complete, who is the head of every ruler and authority. 11 By him you were also circumcised with a circumcision not done by hands by the putting off of the body of flesh, by the circumcision of Christ,

Questions

  1. What’s the significance of the perfect tense of the participle when paired with the present tense verb? The ESV’s “you have been filled” seems to ignore the present tense verb, while the KJV’s “ye are complete” seems to ignore the perfect tense participle. I’m seeing the participle as adverbial here, specifying the grounds on which the assertion “you are in him” can be made, but no other translation that I’ve found takes it that way; they either go with the perfect tense or the present tense. Am I way off base?
  2. I’m not entirely confident in my rendering ἐν as “by” at the beginning of v. 11. Everybody else seems to go with “in him.” Does “in him” suggest that the circumcision is done by God through Christ? Does “by him” neglect the Trinity by pointing to the wrong agent? Is it too incongruous with the “in him” of v. 10?

Application

  1. What grace that God has made me “complete,” or whole (though not perfect)!
  2. There is great comfort and peace being in union with him in whom “all the fullness of deity dwells bodily” and who is over every ruler and authority here.
  3. Since Christ is head of every ruler and authority, I am freed to be less worried by politics and politicians, though I may still be bothered by them. (See also Romans 13)
  4. Christians’ circumcision is not natural but supernatural. Since it’s of the heart (Dt 30:6), it can’t be done by human hands and must be done by God. This is a reminder to me of God’s grace in changing my heart so that I am able to love him. I can’t do it on my own, so praise God for his grace!

Not sure why I felt like publicly working out some “application” today, but I did. So there you go.

Posted via email from Adamic

One Response to “Colossians 2:10-11”

  1. 1 Jeremy Pinnix

    Keep it up. I’m enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

