Okay Okay, Here’s a Post: The Word of the Day

13Dec09

The word of the day is: dilettante.

dil•et•tante

a person who cultivates an area of interest, such as the arts, without real commitment or knowledge (New Oxford American Dictionary)

When I first learned today’s word of the day, I thought it a delightfully witty and intelligent insult. For example: Hehe, Richard Dawkins is a dilettante when it comes to the Bible, why would anyone pay attention to what he thinks about it?

But then I realized I am one, in almost every area in which I am interested. From someone’s perspective, I’m a dilettante programmer, a dilettante theologian, a dilettante Christian, a dilettante husband, etc.

So now it’s not so funny; it just sounds arrogant.

Lesson learned: Insults can backfire. Refrain from using them.*

_____

* Thankfully, I never actually called anyone a dilettante. But I could have.

No Responses Yet to “Okay Okay, Here’s a Post: The Word of the Day”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

