The Danger of Scripture Memorization

21Mar10
This semester, I’m memorizing the book of Ephesians for an internship.

Lest I think it’ll de facto make me a better Christian, Jim West notes the example of Steven Anderson, pastor of the Faithful Word Baptist Church in Arizona. Anderson “holds no college degree but has well over 100 chapters of the Bible committed to memory” (source) and yet preached a sermon called “Why I Hate Barack Obama.” The line that really sells the sermon? “I’m gonna pray that he dies and goes to hell” (source).

Scripture memorization is great, and I heartily recommend hiding God’s word in your heart in that way (Psalm 119:11).

But it won’t make you righteous. The danger is that it could easily contribute to your self-righteousness.

One Response to “The Danger of Scripture Memorization”

  1. That guy seriously worries me.


Leave a Reply

